FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedToo Hard on Him

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
thunderwolves View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thunderwolves Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Too Hard on Him
    Posted: 18 November 2008 at 8:04pm

Not really much point to this, just needed to ramble somewhere other than inside my head...

My problem is that I am quite hard on Ethan, and I do expect a lot from him..much more than you should expect from a just 2 year old. I know this is a bit of a problem but I can't change my mindset on this.

There are two things that really contribute to this, number one is that I know he is a very clever boy and very advanced for his age, he has amazing language and very good comprehension, so because of that i forget that his little brain is only two. I am a trained early childhood teacher and I think a big part is the teacher taking over the mummy in me, I want to extend him to his full potential,

The other reason is the family history on his dads side, there a lot of boys (his dad is one of 6 boys and all the brothers have children, mostly boys) and all the boys have major behaviour and discipline problems, and I really don't want that kind of behaviour for my boy. They really baby their kids and never make them accountable for their behaviour, even at 6 and 7 the excuse is "oh they're just little and don't understand" (my ass). I know most of that is their parenting but all the boys do have excessivly high energy levels, and very low concentration levels...

See, there isn't much point other than a ramble, but any ideas how I can fix my brain would be awesome...sometimes after he goes to bed at night, I just sit down and think he is only two, he is not a baby but not the big boy I expect him to be.....

Sponsored Links

pomikiwi View Drop Down